Posted by: Mish | September 5, 2010

Pools of Possibilities

I’m still slogging through Ulysses and chuckling through Don Quixote, but am looking forward to participating in two challenges. After Joyce’s long-winded ramblings, science fiction, dark fantasy, and mystery will be especially welcome and refreshing.

RIP Challenge

My pool of possibilities for this year’s Science Fiction Challenge is:

1. Isaac Asimov, Foundation – Way past due for reading something by Asimov.
2: Robert Silverberg, Lord Valentine’s Castle – Have come to like the Majipoor series.
3. Mira Grant, Feed – Past due for reading; I probably wouldn’t read my first zombie novel if it weren’t by Seanan McGuire. Thinking of her as Mira is just weird.
4. Robert Heinlein, Starship Troopers – Remember the movie, heard the book is better and have really liked what I’ve read thus far.
5. Sylvie Bérard, Terre des Autres – Way past due for reading.
6. Anthology, Nebula Award Stories Four – Couldn’t pass up this find from 1969.
7. C.S. Lewis, Perelandra – Liked the Narnia books and Till We Have Faces so would like to give his science fiction a shot.
8. Orson Scott Card, Xenocide – Trying to finish the Ender saga.
9. Madeleine L’Engle, A Wrinkle in Time (or one of the others in the series) – Re-read.
10. Rebecca Stead, When You Reach Me – Homage to L’Engle’s book(s) that was recently brought within my radar.

For Readers Imbibing Peril hosted by Carl I’ll be drawing from:

1. Louisa May Alcott, the Mysterious Key and What It Opened – Something different from her more well known classics.
2. Arthur Conan Doyle, Tales of Terror and Mystery – Haven’t read anything by him in ages.
3. Neil Gaiman, Coraline – Finally!
4. Seanan McGuire, A Local Habitation – Way past due for reading the dark fantasy.
5. A.A. Milne, the Red House Mystery – Pooh and Christopher Robin ain’t home.
6. Bram Stoker, Dracula – I realized I never finished the novel 17 years ago.
7. Edgar Allen Poe, Collected Works Vol. 1 – Haven’t read his stuff in awhile either.
8. H.P. Lovecraft, the Call of Cthulhu – Liked his poetry, time to check out one of his classic tales.
9. Weird Tales magazine- A plethora of short stories.

Also on a speculative note, the Hugos came and went. Paolo Bacigalupi’s the Windup Girl and China Miéville’s the City & The City tied for best novel. I’m glad Moon received a Hugo, it was a great indie film. I’m still a bit annoyed that three episodes of Doctor Who made up five of the nominees, but oh well. With those odds, it’s unsurprising that one of them was awarded. I’m really happy Seanan McGuire received the John W. Campbell Award for best new writer, but I’m biased.

I just found out the 2012 WorldCon (Chicon 7) will be in Chicago. I really really want to go to the one in Reno next year, especially knowing friends will be there, but a 14 hour drive is so much more doable than a flight out west. Still plenty of time to figure it all out and conspire with friends.

Responses

  1. I think your list for both challenges are great. I read the Foundation trilogy a few years ago after finally screwing up my courage to do so and found them to be amazing. I’ve since read most of his robot short stories and love those as well.

    Starship Troopers is a really, really good book. I just read it for the first time earlier this year. I wasn’t a big fan of the film and I can say that the book is a much more fulfilling experience.

    I need to read Xenocide as well. The only excuse I can give is that I rarely find a decent trade paperback sized copy in a bookstore when I am in the mood to read it and I really want to own it to put with my collection of the first two books.

    Ah, Coraline! Very fun book and film. Now if I could just track down a cheap copy of it on audio.

    I want to read that Milne book as well, and certainly more Lovecraft before this thing is all over and done.

    Happy reading for both challenges!

  2. I had Asimov on last year’s SF list, but he’s one who keeps sliding through the cracks. I also have the Martian Way and Other Stories and been wanting to get my hands on I, Robot.

    Starship Troopers will easily be better than the movie.

    I’m curious how the rest of the Ender saga holds up to the first two books. I have Xenocide and the others on extended loan from a friend. After I read them I’ll decide if I need them in my personal library.

    I finished Lovecraft’s Cult of Cthulu last night. It was good, but not as good as anticipated.

    Thanks again for bringing Milne’s mystery to my attention. May the force be with you in finding Coraline.

  3. I hope you enjoy Coraline! It was a good book and perfect for this time of year!

  4. I, Robot is one of my favorite SF short story collections.

    I too am curious about the rest of the Ender novels. My wife enjoyed the first two and listened to the audio of Xenocide and said she liked it.

    I’m not sure I’ve read Cult of Cthulu and have only read a handful of the Cthulu stories. And while I enjoy them, and the idea, well enough I like some of his other stand alone short stories much better.

  5. Kailana: Thanks, I know I’ll already love Coraline.

    Carl: I’ve only read Lovecraft’s poetry before so it was oddly neat to read his prose. I have several of his stories to read sooner or later.

  6. [...] …and this is a link to the post where you will find the Mister Linky for signing-up purposes, and here are Mish’s suggestions as to possible reading material. [...]

  7. I haven’t read anything in either of your lists above. That’s almost embarrassing! I have read Ender’s Game though, if that’s worth anything.

    You can definitely count me in on the Sci-fi challenge, while I try and figure out what I should read… I want to read Philip K Dick’s The Man In The High Castle, and John Wyndham’s Day of the Triffids. Might pick out a few books from your list then :D


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

