Posted by: Mish | November 7, 2007

Tears and Tchaikovsky

A few questions came to mind after an absolutely amazing and mind-blowing concert, which words cannot fully describe, by the Montreal Symphony Orchestra. What is it about music that moves us or stirs emotion? What makes it so powerful for one person, but not another? The one sure thing is that everyone experiences music differently. My aunt, who was deaf, enjoyed music through its different vibrations while a hearing person is more apt to enjoy the melody and/or lyrics. I think I may have to pick up a copy of a book on music cognition that I saw last week after all.

Last night, a friend and I were literally moved to tears, both by different pieces. Marcus Goddard (only 34) said with his I Send Only Angels that he wanted to portray rising from darkness into light and that everything is connected. The piece was beautifully heartfelt, deep, and awe-inspiring. It was during William Walton’s upbeat Concerto for violin that I got teary-eyed. For me it was a mix of pure joy from the music itself and seeing James Ehnes’ astounding playing again and the sadness it triggered within at the same time. Tchaikovsky’s 4th Symphony may also be seen as reflecting his own life and coming out of a darker period. I thought it a very happy piece, vibrant and full of energy. I couldn’t help but tap along; I had to move even if in a limited capacity.

Another friend and I refer to the classical composers as the original rock-n-rollers. Energized and thinking of him after the concert, I rocked out to Beethoven during my drive home. I can’t speak for the rest of the audience, but last night’s music moved me emotionally and physically.

Leave a Reply

Categories

