Posted by: Mish | February 1, 2008

A Bookworm’s Friday Five

1. Do you read for recreation?

Bibliophile here.

2. What sorts of things do you read? Fiction? Nonfiction? What category or genre? Long pieces? Short? Books? Magazines? Web pages?

Just about anything anywhere, but magazine if they’re around (ie. waiting rooms).

3. Does your mood, circumstance, or lifestyle influence the reading choices you make?

I usually have 5 books going at a time. Sometimes I’m in the mood for light and easy, sometimes heavier. My current reads are fantasy & sci-fi, shamanism, and gender politics.

4. What function does reading hold for you? Escape? Learning? Companionship? Imaginative voyage? Other?

I love the adventures and travels the words take me on. Rereading Mercedes Lackey’s Valdemar series is a reunion with friends. I also love mulling thoughts over and the discussion that can ensue.

5. What, if anything, that you’ve read in the last year or so stands out as particularly excellent reading?

I absolutely loved these for various reasons:

John Perkins- Shapeshifting: Beautiful.

Oscar Wilde- The Picture of Dorian Gray: A bit horrific.

Charles de Lint- Memory & Dream: Artsy.

Meat Loaf- To Hell and Back: Humorous & interesting.

Peter Beagle- the Fantasy Worlds of Peter Beagle: Last Unicorn anyone?

Ursula LeGuin translation of Tao Te Ching: Poetic.

Margaret Atwood- the Handmaid’s Tale: Scary.

Responses

  1. Would Mish mind if I partake in above question? Looks like fun.
    Peace,

  2. Not at all, please do.

    Shalom.

  3. 1. Do you read for recreation?
    I live to read and read to survive. Motto “Love, Live, Read.”

    2. What sorts of things do you read? Fiction? Nonfiction? What category or genre? Long pieces? Short? Books? Magazines? Web pages?

    Fiction/Theology/Classics, mostly books, which I carry in a bookbag from room to room at home. I’m such a dweeb.

    3. Does your mood, circumstance, or lifestyle influence the reading choices you make?
    I cycle from season to season. Winter is my fantasy mode. Too much fantasy and I go for theology, and vise versa. Spring summer, I get all green and read on farming, or eco stuff. But I do flip flop, whichever way the wind blows.

    4. What function does reading hold for you? Escape? Learning? Companionship? Imaginative voyage? Other?
    Escape. Escape. Escape. Hope. Pleasure.

    5. What, if anything, that you’ve read in the last year or so stands out as particularly excellent reading?
    Dan Simmons, The Terror. I was out on medical and tackled this dark/historical fiction. It was a tough read, emotionally, but that man can write!
    Oh, and I am always blown away by Being Peace by TNH, and read it on a yearly basis.

  4. Haven’t read Being Peace in a long while. I’ve taken to reading Tao Te Ching continually.


Leave a Reply

Categories

