Posted by: Mish | August 9, 2008

Around the Bend

I was in the mood for a movie, but not this or that, and so opted for Around the Bend. Borrowed from a friend with whom I share similar movie tastes, I didn’t even bother to read the synopsis before popping it in. I figured I could go for some Michael Caine and Christopher Walken tonight. I liked it enough to watch the behind the scenes documentary as an encore. I’ll most likely watch it with the commentary some time down the road.

Simply put, Around the Bend is about a reunion of sorts between four generations, from great-grandfather to great-grandson. Henry (Caine) is determined to have his “tribe” take a road trip to New Mexico, one way or another. The film sits between drama and comedy. Both are portrayed naturally as would happen during random moments in life. Among the cast are also Josh Lucas, Glenne Headly, and Jonah Bobo, who was 6 at the time of production.

One of the things I really enjoyed about this film is that it doesn’t have all the bells and whistles that a lot of productions do, mainly because it’s an independent film. Staff had to work with an extremely tight budget and time frame, ie. four weeks to film. One woman jokingly held up her broken finger while saying it happened because she went over budget. The crew made do with what they had and the cinematography was superb and quite stunning.

Jordan Roberts had originally intended Around the Bend as a play and had first started writing it ten years prior to the movie in 2004. I don’t believe it’s made it onto the stage, but if it ever does and I am able, I would really like to see it. I wouldn’t mind getting my hands on the script either.

On screen or stage, Around the Bend I recommend.

Leave a Reply

Categories

