Posted by: Mish | August 14, 2008

BTT: Other Worlds

From Booking Through Thursday…

Are there any particular worlds in books where you’d like to live?

In Mercedes Lackey’s Valdemar. Specifically, in a tree house among the Tayledras (Hawk brothers) and the lush greenery and natural hot springs. I don’t know if I’d opt to live there, but A.A Milne’s world of Pooh just randomly popped into my head. It could be fun playing tricks on Rabbit and pushing Pooh through the door.

Or where you certainly would NOT want to live?

A society where books are burned such as in Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451, the Republic of Gilead from Margaret Atwood’s the Handmaid’s Tale, nor the futuristic Earth in Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game. I’ll pass on the strict social regulations and the repercussions of breaking them. I’m also not inclined to live in a place where war is a constant, so much that children are raised and groomed for that.

What about authors? If you were a character, who would you trust to write your life?

Orson Scott Card. I’m currently on my third read by Card and I really like his writing. His character and plot development are A+. He’s good at digging into things without forgetting his main storyline. He’s good at holding the reader’s attention, which he does quickly. He’s deep, but witty and humorous at the same time. More about Card to come at some point…

Booking through Thursday is a meme blog for books and reading. Every week questions are posted for anyone who’s interested to respond. It’s a fun little forum for the bibliophiles out there. I’ve done a couple of the memes from BTT but don’t believe I’ve actually mentioned them nor put them on my blogroll. So now I have and will.

Responses

  1. I was tossing up between a Tayledras Vale and the Star Trek universe. Went with Star Trek in the end – figured when I got there I could use the holodeck to create my own ekele. =)

    The Handmaid’s Tale… *shudder*

  2. Heheh. Nice. Read your post earlier, but didn’t have time to comment. I haven’t read 1984. It’s kind of on the List.


Leave a Reply

Categories

