Posted by: Mish | September 6, 2008

BTT: Peer Pressure

I’ve always been more apt to take the path less traveled, in life, likes, and reading. Currently popular are the Harry Potter and the Twilight series, where it seems just about everyone has read or is reading them. The hiker within says the trails are too crowded and there are other mountains I’d rather climb. Otherwise, I’m content to cross or share paths with a few others and share thoughts on the scenery.

The past couple years I read one or two books of the fantasy and sci-fi genres. This year, I’ve been traversing almost nothing but those realms. Part of that is due to most of them being series, some longer than others (ie. 28 books for Mercedes Lackey’s Valdemar). Besides Lackey, I’ve read Orson Scott Card, Rod Serling, PR Frost, and other wordsmiths through anthologies. Now that I’ve finally gotten my hand on the 5 book series, I’m enjoying some Arthurian lore through Irene Radford’s Merlin’s Descendants.

I’ve already run through double the number of books as last year and am barely stopping for Read More Books, a reviews forum. My reading list grows faster than I can (or have time to) read and at this time Harry Potter and Twilight aren’t detours I’m inclined to take. Maybe later, eventually, we’ll see…

This post stems from Booking Through Thursday:

I was looking through books yesterday at the shops and saw all the Twilight books, which I know basically nothing about. What I do know is that I’m beginning to feel like I’m the *only* person who knows nothing about them.

Despite being almost broke and trying to save money, I almost bought the expensive book (Australian book prices are often completely nutty) just because I felt the need to be ‘up’ on what everyone else was reading.

Have you ever felt pressured to read something because ‘everyone else’ was reading it? Have you ever given in and read the book(s) in question or do you resist? If you are a reviewer, etc, do you feel it’s your duty to keep up on current trends?

Leave a Reply

Categories

