Posted by: Mish | January 1, 2009

BTT: New Year’s Resolutions

Booking Through Thursday‘s questions of the week are: “So … any Reading Resolutions? Say, specific books you plan to read? A plan to read more ____? Anything at all? Name me at least ONE thing you’re looking forward to reading this year!”

This year I would like to read more books from my constantly growing list and more of what already live on their shelves. Sometimes they are one and the same, but often times not. I’d like to continue borrowing or buying used books instead of getting new ones, which sometimes cannot be helped. This past year I only bought 6 new, which isn’t bad all things considered. And 5 of those were Irene Radford’s Merlin’s Descendants series, which I wanted to purchase new without a big bookstore getting in the middle. “Sorry, Borders, you don’t get a cut.” I think I’m going to start participating in the 100 Shots of Short Reading Challenge. Considering the number of anthologies I’ve read in the past few years, I’m sure I already have a good start to reading 100 short stories.

I am looking forward to reading the rest of the Ender’s Game series by Orson Scott Card. I may not finish it this year, but I plan on getting through more of the Bible. I am currently on page 305 and have about 900 left to go.  I also haven’t read any Neil Gaiman since early 2007 and miss his story telling so maybe I’ll get a few of his off my list. I also want to read Kiterunner, Stranger in a Strange Land, Changeling, … The list is below. Anyone read any of these? If so, any thoughts to share? Any suggestions for additions?

Orson Scott Card: rest of Ender’s Game series
Orson Scott Card: rest of Women of Genesis series
James Endredy: Ecoshamanism
Bill Bryson: A Walk in the Woods- Rediscovering America on the Appalachian Trail
Roger Zelazny: Changeling
James Morrow: The Last Witchfinder
Gershon Winkler: Magic of the Ordinary: Recovering the Shamanic in Judaism
Michael Ende: the Neverending Story (Die unendliche Geschitchte)
William Goldman: The Princess Bride
Doug Wright: I Am My Own Wife
Neil Gaiman: Fragile Things: Short Fictions and Wonders
Neil Gaiman: Smoke and Mirrors: Short Fictions and Illusions
Castaneda: Teachings of Don Juan
Heinlein: Stranger in a Strange Land
Califia: Mortal Companion
Califia: Sex Changes: the Politics of Transgenderism
Califia: Public Sex: the Culture of Radical Sex
Ann-Marie MacDonald: the Way the Crow Flies
David Sedaris: Me talk Pretty one Day
Rebecca Stein: Anthropology of Religion, Magic, and Witchcraft
Robert Ghost Wolf: Changing the Tides of Fear
Marion Zimmer Bradley: Firebrand
Ursula LeGuin: Earthsea series (halfway through)
John Steinbeck: The Winter of Our Discontent
Hosseini: Kiterunner
Acharya S: Christ Conspiracy, Greatest Story Ever Told
Dan Brown: Digital Fortress
Sean Hepburn Ferrer: Audrey Hepburn, an Elegent Spirit: A son Remembers
Victor Hugo: Les Miserables (French version)
Ronald Hutton: Triumph of the Moon
Danaher: The Year in Ireland
MacNeil: The Silver Bough
Howard Lyman (the mad cowboy): No More Bull
Audrey Niffenegger: The Time Traveler’s Wife
Carolyn Parkhurst: Dogs of Babel
G. K. Chesterton: Heretics, Orthodoxy… something
Michael Pollan: The Omnivore’s Dilemma
Koran
Talmud

Responses

  1. what can I say? Gaiman good, Card good, haven’t heard of the Dan Brown one.

    attempting Hugo in the original? quite a challenge. Lots of street slang from the times, although the language itself is clear and elegant.

    the Koran and Talmud should be interesting reads. How about throwing in some Zen texts there as an act of total randomness 🙂

    ambitious, ambitious list!

  2. The entire Koran and Talmud? (blink, blink) I’m impressed. Happy New Year.

  3. Thanks for visiting. I’ll be coming by for more than just a glimpse.

    Sally, I’m a glutton for punishment. Haha. I like knowing people’s basis for beliefs and where they’re coming from. Though not a religious Jew I’m fascinated by religions. Thank you, Happy New Year.

    ggw_bach, something tells me you might be interested in the violinist James Ehnes, specifically his Bach: Six Sonatas & Partitas album. Should he ever play down under, I recommend seeing him…more than once.

    Dan Brown’s Digital Fortress in brief: a computer geek’s spy novel. It’ll be a nice step away from the religious themes of his other books I’ve read.

    I’ve been wanting to reread Les Mis and figure I might as well go for the original, which I’ve read bits and pieces of.

    Someone told me the Koran is harder to get through then the Bible. We shall see. Talmud, interesting indeed. As to Zen, already read Tao Te Ching and Being Peace. Any other randoms you recommend? =)

    “ambitious, ambitious list!” Yea, it’s a shame I don’t like to read.

  4. Interesting and highly ambitious list.

    I’ve found Dan Brown’s Digital Fortress very disappointing. It is one of the worst books from Dan Brown. The plot is a too far fetched.

    The Time Traveler’s Wife, on the other hand, is a very good. Its one of my highly recommended books.

  5. A lot of fiction is far fetched. I’ll get to Digital Fortress at some point. Too many others have higher priority.

    Thanks for your thoughts on both.


Leave a Reply

Categories

