Posted by: Mish | January 26, 2009

A Playwright’s Musings

For as long as I can remember, I’ve loved reading and writing. Reading was the first subject my sister and I learned from my parents, who wrote the alphabet and words on the bedroom wall in those colorful and scented markers. My father is a teacher and my mom taught for awhile some years later so academics (and grades) were always heavily stressed upon in my family. They were appalled and angry that my kindergarten teacher didn’t believe in getting children to read at that age. I ended up doing the reading assignments with a first grade class taught by a family friend. That’s the best thing my first grade teacher could have done for me then.

While in elementary and high school, I’d frequently get caught not paying attention. All things considered, my teachers were pretty good about my reading and writing when I should have been doing other things, like those equations in algebra. What can I say, I was more interested in Shakespeare than in Pythagrean’s theory.

My introduction to theatre was attending the high school productions when I was young. I still remember the comical spoof of Friday the 13th that involved a plunger. Although I enjoyed acting enough, I realized in high school that I loved the technical aspects of theatre even more. Through the years of my involvement with theatre, academic and professional, I’ve worn numerous hats. Although the thought has crossed my mind on many occasions, I have yet to set my quill to writing a play. When the muses appear, I enjoy writing in many forms so why not plays?

A few months ago, someone told me I should write lyrics. That was one of many topics during some gypsy jivings, a conversation and impromptu jam session that took place in a New York City subway. I’m passionate about music, but never really considered song writing. But then isn’t a song basically poetry put to music? There are a few poems in my notebook that could be reworked, or if inspired, I could come up with something new.

The possibilities for writing are endless, but something to consider. In the meantime, maybe I’ll share some more of my writing here on my stage and canvas. Since there’s no time like the present:

Look to Brother’s Eyes
04/21/98

Gaze into his eyes,
all knowing and wise.
See through them deep
and into his soul’s keep.
He is full of tears
forming from his fears.
His family dies,
see how Brother cries,
saddened by things all
that to him must befall.
Brother takes all in,
including Man’s sin.
As he tries to live
he continues to forgive.
Look to all that’s wise
and into Brother wolf’s eyes.

Who knows where the pen and muses will lead? These musings of a possible playwright are inspired by a meme that was actually appropriate for myself.

You Are a Playwright


You are a highly literate wordsmith. You love both reading and writing.

You are also a natural storyteller. You can turn a mediocre anecdote into a riveting tale.You find people and all aspects of life fascinating. No topic is off limits for you.

In modern times, you would make a good filmmaker or novelist.

“Look to Brother’s Eyes” Copyright © Misha Lee 2009.

Leave a Reply

Categories

