Posted by: Mish | January 31, 2009

One Book

A quick meme with thanks to Orchidus.

One book…

you’re currently reading: Mad Angels, plays by Larry Kirwain

that changed your life: Shapeshifting by John Perkins

you’d want on a deserted island: a survival guide

you’ve read more than once: Magic’s Pawn by Mercedes Lackey

you’ve never been able to finish: Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

that made you laugh: Another Fine Myth by Robert Asprin

that made you cry: Guardian of the Promise by Irene Radford

you keep rereading: Tao Te Ching translated by Ursula LeGuin

you’ve been meaning to read: Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert Heinlein

you believe everyone should read: Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

Grab the nearest book. Open it to page 56. Find the fifth sentence:
“Decent as fair,” he said, then cautiously lifted an arm and pointed at her brow. The Little Sisters of Eluria by Stephen King in Legends, an anthology of fantasy novellas.

Responses

  1. Ah, Grapes of Wrath and Stranger in a Strange Land! Two books that I have been meaning to read but felt intimidated or hesitant to pick up. What is your opinion of Mercedes Lackey? I tried reading Owlflight or a similar title and I just could not get into it. Any recommendations?

  2. Anyone I’ve talked to has said read Stranger in a Strange Land and I tend to like Heinlein in general. It’s not nearly as long as Grapes of Wrath, which is a good story, but I just couldn’t get through it in high school when it was assigned. Now that I’m older, I might try it again.

    May I ask why the hesitancy or intimidation?

    I’ve enjoyed Lackey for many years. Overall, she’s a good storyteller. Owlflight, which she wrote with another, and some of her early works aren’t nearly as good as her more recent stuff. A few (ie. Vows and Honor) are down right torturous and make me wonder if an editor was involved at all. For the Valdemar series, I’d start with Magic’s Pawn (Last Herald Mage trilogy) or Arrows of the Queen (Heralds of Valdemar trilogy). I also liked the Bardic Voices series and what I read of the Elemental Masters series and…. Yep, I’m just a “little” bit of a Lackey fan. 🙂

    Here’s the quick link to book reviews, including Lackey.


Leave a Reply

Categories

