Posted by: Mish | February 19, 2009

Interview Me

After reading an interview with Robin, I asked her to ask me 5 questions. After mulling over her good questions for a bit, here are my responses:

If you could go back in time – what year would you visit and why?

1500 so I could converse with the classic renaissance man himself, Leonardo da Vinci. I would love to talk with him about his designs for theatre that really set the stage for others, plus his drafts and paintings, and his hands in engineering and the sciences. He had an incredible thirst for knowledge and the ability to grasp what was ahead of his time. I’d also like to ask da Vinci if he knows how creepy it is to have eyes following one’s every move.

Out of all the worlds you have read by science fiction authors – which one would you choose to live on?

For fantasy, it would be Lackey’s Valdemar, but that wasn’t the question. Since the majority of the sci-fi worlds I’ve read about are dystopias and places I’d rather avoid, I would opt for wintry Gethen from the Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula Le Guin. I’m used to long winters anyway and much prefer its easy going manner over a world whose government controls everything, or enough to make life unpleasant and difficult.

Who is the one painter whose work you have not seen in person yet, that you would travel anywhere to see?

Edgar Paxson, specifically Custer’s Last Stand in Wyoming. When I was 11 I was disappointed in the Louvre because I was looking forward to seeing it and thought it would be there. Paxson interviewed people from both sides and the depiction of that infamous battle took several years to complete and I’d still really like to see it.

If you could interview Michelangelo – what would you ask him?

I’d like to know his thoughts on studying under the Medicis, who were major patrons and thinkers in the arts. I also kind of wonder if  Michelangelo felt his works and rise to fame were worth being the Church’s puppet.

How do you picture the face of God?

As one who doesn’t believe in monotheism, I feel the Sacred’s faces are seen through the smile of the moon, the glare of the sun, the regal stag, the crouching cougar, and all other facets of nature.

.

If you’d like to be interviewed, leave a comment saying so and I’ll get back to you with some questions. Feel free to continue this meme, you (should) know the drill.

Responses

  1. Great answers, Mish. I enjoyed reading and learning more about you. I have a habit of lumping sci fi and fantasy together….sorry about that. I have to agree, I would love to live in Lackey’s Valdemar.

  2. It’s okay, I’ve rambled on about Valdemar and Lackey quite a bit here, so it’s good to mention somewhere else. =)

    They were very nice questions, thank you. I’ve been enjoying your blog too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

