Posted by: Mish | February 24, 2009

Music Memes

It’s late and I should go to bed, but I’m not ready so instead I’ll do a couple memes I’ve seen circulating.

Favourite remakes. List 12 favourite remakes and their original artists, who are in parenthesis. I had to look a few of the originals up, which I’m marking with an asterix. This kind of shows how unfamiliar I am with some music. In no particular order…

1. Behind Blue Eyes – Anthony Stewart Head (*Pete Townshend)

2. Witch of Westmereland – Heather Alexander (Archie Fisher)

3. Brown Eyed Girl – Glengarry Bhoys (*Van Morrison)

4. Bad For Good – Meat Loaf (Jim Steinman)

5. Walking in Memphis – Michael Ball (*Mark Cohn)

6. Hymn to Herne – Alexander James Adams (SJ Tucker)

7. Baby, it’s Cold Outside – Bebe Neuwirth & John Lithgow (Frank Loesser)

8. Greensleeves – Loreena McKennitt (English folk tune)

9. Total Eclipse of the Heart – Steve Barton & Elaine Caswell (a Steinman classic)

10. After the Gold Rush – kd Lang (Neil Young)

11. In A Big Country – Glengarry Bhoys (*Big Country)

12. Shenandoah – Heather Alexander (American folk tune)

10 Songs That Describe You or Your Life

1. Six String Love – Vixy & Tony: “Take me to all the filk cons, baby, take me to the open jam. Drop your D right in front of me, and I might forget just who I am.” Whahubbawha?

2. Ballad of Serenity – by Joss Whedon: “Take my love, take my land, take me where I cannot stand, I don’t care, I’m still free, you can’t take the sky from me.” Independent Browncoat here.

3. Talk Like a Pirate Day – Tom Smith: “Most days are like all of the others, go to work, come back home, watch TV, but, brother, if I had me druthers, I’d chuck it and head out to sea.” I love costuming, theatre, swords, and sailing.

4. Zigue Zon – Glengarry Bhoys: “M’en va t’à la fontaine pour y pêcher du poisson, la ziguezon zin zon.” Quick Acadian folk tune about fishing and one of my favorites from the Bhoys.

5. Hymn to Herne – SJ Tucker: “Guardian lord of ancient rhyme, brother stag in the musky glen and consort of the Goddess in her woodland den.” Pagan here.

6. Firebird’s Child – SJ Tucker: “I am a firebird, the boldest song you’ve ever heard. Join in the dance, and make it wild, wild, wild!” *Screeches*

7. Pirate Bill and Squidly – Heather Alexander: “Said Pirate Bill and Squidly, ‘You will learn to live today. Just arch your back and spread your arms, let the wind scream in your ears.'” A good anthem.

8. Stolen Child – Loreena McKennit/Heather Alexander/Yeats: “For he comes the human child, to the waters and the wild, with a faery hand in hand.” I love my friends the fae.

9. 9 to 5 – Dolly Parton: “Workin’ 9 to 5, what a way to make a livin’, barely gettin’ by, it’s all takin’ and no givin’…it’s enough to drive you crazy if you let it.” Been there, done that. No thanks.

10. Lady Vagabond – SJ Tucker: “Just Django and the land…Four directions singing, rising, hi, the open road is home.” What she said.

On that note, I think I’m ready to turn in. I’ve got a train to catch tomorrow/today. For once I think James Bodhran is going to stay here due to cold weather.

“I Send my melody line around
and back to chase its tail
gas tank’s full, like a head of stories,
and the road will never pale
my heart will never fail
a life that’s full can never pale
my voice will never fail.
hear that lonely train whistle wail

Where I have been and where I’m bound
even the angels would not know
All four winds blow steady, singing
Hi, the open road is home”

Leave a Reply

Categories

