Posted by: Mish | March 5, 2009

Best Book Never Read

It seems for every book I read, three more get added to “the list”. A big part of that is because I get distracted with other books that suddenly take priority. Another is that many of those I don’t own or haven’t come across in used bookstores yet. I’ve been trying to limit new purchases, but so far this year there are four I had to get for one viable reason or another, like as part of a fundraiser. There’s also just being in the mood for an author and/or genre. Anyway, this week’s Booking Through Thursday question is a good one, of course many are.

btt2We’ve all seen the lists, we’ve all thought, “I should really read that someday,” but for all of us, there are still books on “The List” that we haven’t actually gotten around to reading. Even though we know they’re fabulous. Even though we know that we’ll like them. Or that we’ll learn from them. Or just that they’re supposed to be worthy. We just … haven’t gotten around to them yet. What’s the best book that YOU haven’t read yet?

Looking at my reading list, here are some of the high priorities that I just haven’t gotten to yet:

Orson Scott Card- Rest of the Ender series: Ender’s Game and Speaker for the Dead were phenomenal and I’d like to finish the series and read more Card.

Roger Zelazny- Changeling: A friend whose other recommendations I’ve loved mentioned this one several years ago and its been on my mind ever since.

Robert Heinlein- Stranger in a Strange Land: What I’ve read of Heinlein was good and a few of my friends have said “read it!”, plus it’s a sci-fi classic.

Neil Gaiman- Fragile Things and Smoke and Mirrors: One of these anthologies, I can’t remember which, I’ve been waiting to read since it came out in hardcover.

Audrey Niffenegger- The Time Traveler’s Wife: Genetic disorder causing time travel sounds interesting, and different.

James Endredy- Ecoshamanism: Suggested reading by a friend/spiritual mentor whose recommendations I seem to read at the right time.

Rebecca Stein- Anthropology of Religion, Magic, and Witchcraft: A textbook a friend uses to teach that I’ve only been able to glance through.

Howard Lyman- No More Bull: “The Mad Cowboy” turned vegan so I’d like to hear what he has to say. This has been on my list for awhile, before I recently reintroduced (some) meat back into my diet.

Michael Pollan- The Omnivore’s Dilemma: Another book based on the food industry that piqued my interest.

Whether you’ve read them or not, any thoughts on any of these? Which books haven’t you been able to get to and why not?

Responses

  1. Changeling has recently made it’s way on my wishlist. So has Neil Gaiman. I have his Fragile things. I hope it’s good 🙂

    Haven’t heard of the others. They seem really different.

  2. Mish,
    That’s one heck of a long list of ‘get to’ books. One can tell that somebody really likes their sci-fi though *grins*. One intriguing title on there – Anthropology of Religion, Magic, and Witchcraft. It sounds like an interesting read.
    Good luck with getting to some (all) of these at some stage.
    Warmest
    Rob

  3. Great list. 🙂 I really should pick up some Card and Gaiman some time.

  4. I’ve heard from others that Zelazny in general is good. It’s been awhile since I’ve read any Gaiman so I’m looking forward to doing so. I hope you enjoy both. Different is the spice of life.

  5. Yea…hard to truly narrow it down. =) I’m definitely in my sci-fi phase. Last year was fantasy and before that was general fiction spotted with plays. The anthro book looked really good, but because it’s a textbook…$$.

    Thanks and likewise with getting through that Russian lit.

  6. You really should, starting with Card’s Ender’s Game and Gaiman’s American Gods or Coraline.

  7. I love the Gaiman I’ve read.

    I only got through half of Stranger in a Strange Land. It’s good, but there is a lot of long talking passages I got bogged down in. I plan to try again later.

  8. I have two copies of tha textbook ; ) It is a good introduction to the topic and has interesting case studies and examples. Vey clearly written.

    As for my list . . . sheesh. There are SO many that I can’t even think of actual titles off the top of my head. I have The Lathe of Heaven sitting on my shelf . . .picked it up 2nd hand. And I was recently introduced to the works of a Québécoise sci-fi author named Anne Robillard and one of her books is sitting on my shelf as well. Also picked up a few Foucault books . . .drool . . .but who knows when I will have the time. Finally, I picked up some fiction by some Arabic authors that I’m looking forward to sinking my teeth into.

  9. Likewise with Gaiman.

    I’ve only read Heimlein’s shorts so far. Thanks for the warning.

  10. So it seemed from my all too brief glance. Two you say?

    Thanks for reminding me. I wanted to pick up that copy of Lathe of Heaven that I saw at my used bookshoppe. Sounds like some interesting reading ahead, when you get the time.

  11. The movie makes me very curious about The Changeling.

    To your comment: I agree that Margaret Atwood has a delay factor after I finished The Handmaid’s Tale. It took me a week to make of the book, and when I did, I felt creepy about the story. She’s talented but also eclectic.

    It would be nice if you read along Les Miserables with me. I’m very excited that many of you have shown interests in reading. 🙂

  12. The book and film aren’t related, but the book’s recommended anyway. 🙂 I haven’t seen the movie yet, what did you think of it? I’ve heard mixed reviews.

    I’m willing to give Atwood a third go, later.

    The read along will give me an extra push to reread Les Mis, which I’ve been wanting to do anyway.

    I got through about 2/3s of Gone with the Wind before I stopped, for whatever reason.
    Having assigned reading for high school classes most likely had a lot to do with it.

  13. I really enjoyed The Omnivore’s Dilemma, it made me think a little harder about the choices I make in the supermarket aisle and how they effect the larger food chain. Eye opening reading!

  14. It sounded like it offered some interesting food for thought. I haven’t come across anyone who’s read Dilemma so it’s good to hear that.


Leave a Reply

Categories

