Posted by: Mish | April 11, 2009

Currently Reading

I can’t remember the last time I used a single bookmark. I tend to have something for different moods and mentalities. Some nights don’t allow me to read “just one more chapter” until the wee hours of the morning so I’ll keep temptation at bay by not reading a page turner. I currently have bookmarks in:

1. Ravens in the Library: A fundraising fantasy anthology that I’ve slowly been savoring since its arrival on April Fool’s day. Because it’s personally precious I’m less inclined to put it in my duffle as I usually do when away, which leads me to…

2. The Compass Rose by Ursula Le Guin: The day after saying I hadn’t yet read any of Le Guin’s short stories, a friend handed me this sci-fi anthology. It’s good, but is better digested one or two stories at a time. After reading about quantum theory my head wanted to implode. Ravens and Compass balance each other out quite nicely. At my personal library- I mean my friend’s- I’m also reading some…

3. Irish folklore: Knowing my love for mythology and all things Celtic, my friend passed me this some time ago. It’s easy to pick up and continue whenever I’m over.

4. Animal-Speak by Ted Andrews: An encyclopedia of sorts about animal medicine and totems that I decided to read from cover to cover after a conversation with a friend and spiritual mentor about going back to basics. It has a lot of interesting information about animals in general and is good for those “short read” nights.

5. Tao Te Ching translated by Urusla Le Guin: Meditavive poetry. I’m on my second cycle, but it’s one those books that can be flipped to any page, like #33- “Kinds of Power”:

Knowing other people is intelligence,
knowing yourself is wisdom,
Overcoming others takes strength,
overcoming yourself takes greatness.
Contentment is wealth.

Boldly pushing forward takes resolution.
Staying put keeps you in position.

To live till you die
is to live long enough.

6. the Bible: I’m a Jewish Pagan who likes learning about religions and beliefs, whether my own or not. I also like having a better idea of where the other person is coming from when getting into debating discussions. I’m still in the Old Testement, Samuel I/Kings I to be exact. After hearing which translation I’ve been reading, a friend said, “you’re reading the 17-something-something version of the King James! What a slogger”. The language is fine, it’s the who begat who, detailed descriptions of construction (100 cubits by 100 cubits), and repetitiveness that slow it down. I haven’t decided yet if I’ll continue slogging through or take her suggestion of changing translations.

That’s what I’m in the middle of at the moment. Is anyone else an ADD-reader like me? Be it one or more, what are you reading? Or from this week’s Booking Through Thursday:

btt2Some people read one book at a time. Some people have a number of them on the go at any given time, perhaps a reading in bed book, a breakfast table book, a bathroom book, and so on, which leads me to… 1. Are you currently reading more than one book? 2. If so, how many books are you currently reading? 3. Is this normal for you? 4. Where do you keep your current reads?

Leave a Reply

Categories

