Posted by: Mish | May 18, 2009

Early Reading

One of my earliest memories is reading the alphabet and words written in large letters with those fruity-scented markers. My bedroom wall was one of my first books, so to speak. My love for books was passed down from my parents, who read to my younger sister and I every night before bed. I don’t really recall any of the titles from when I was five, but I still remember my father reading Where the Red Fern Grows when I was ten, and rushing to hug our Cocker Spaniel after the end. Due to my teacher at the time not believing kindergartners should read at that age, I read along with a first grade class taught by a family friend who became my teacher the following year. She and my parents were appalled (and pissed) at Mr. No-Read’s attitude, and I’m thankful to them for helping me become such a book addict.

Beginning at eight, I started spending more and more time around horses. The next few places we lived, my usual hang-out was at the stable. For several years, I was living, breathing, and reading horses: Black Beauty, the Black Stallion, and a slew of books by Margeurite Henry, to name a few. Although I haven’t read about the running of the ponies in years, going to Virginia’s Chincoteague Island and seeing it has always been in the back of my mind. Well…I’ve been meaning to breeze through the area to see friends…maybe…

Musing MondaysDo you remember how you developed a love for reading? Was it from a particular person, or person(s)? Do you remember any books that you read, or were read to you, as a young child?

Leave a Reply

Categories

