Posted by: Mish | June 5, 2009

Fast Fifteen

This week’s Booking Through Thursday is a brief prompt:

btt button“Don’t take too long to think about it. Fifteen books you’ve read that will always stick with you. First fifteen you can recall in no more than 15 minutes.”

So in no particular order, except for how they came to mind…

1. Equus- Peter Shaffer
2. Angels in America- Tony Kushner
3. Les Misérables- Victor Hugo
4. the Last Herald Mage trilogy- Mercedes Lackey
5. Merlin’s Descendants series- Irene Radford
6. the Moon in the Mirror- P.R. Frost aka Irene Radford
7. Ravens in the Library- a lot of folks
8. Palimpsest- Catherynne M. Valente
9. the Lathe of Heaven- Ursula Le Guin
10. the Left Hand of Darkness- Ursula Le Guin
11. Ender’s Game- Orson Scott Card
12. Speaker for the Dead- Orson Scott Card
13. Tao Te Ching- Lao Tzu
14. the Diary of Anne Frank- Anne Frank
15. Original Wisdom: An Ancient Way of Knowing- Robert Wolff

These stick out in my mind not only for their content but the memories associated with them as well. Angels in America is one my favorite productions to have worked on and it wasn’t until after the run that I read the script. I read Les Misérables during a road trip through the west in ’95. The Last Herald Mage trilogy was my introduction to Valdemar, Lackey, and filk music. It took several months for me to get Merlin’s Descendants, but an independant vendor eventually sent me their last set that happened to be found and saved for me. The Moon in the Mirror I began reading almost exactly a year ago while I was visiting Pittsburgh. Original Wisdom was a reflection of myself and how I move in the world. Perhaps now that it’s returned I’ll get around to doing a review.

So those are my fast fifteen, what are yours?

Responses

  1. I haven’t read any of those, but my list came to me quickly as well. Happy BTT 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

