Posted by: Mish | June 11, 2009

Niche Reads

I love fishing so I’ll occasionally read Field & Stream or a similar magazine to pick up tips on getting those wily trout. They’re my main catch, but I figure it’s helpful to know where the bass, perch, salmon, etc. like to hang out, their behaviors, and which lures work best. Alas, I missed the brief salmon run at the beginning of April, but I’ve had two excellent trout dinners this week. Friends want me to go salmon fishing in October, and I would really like to, but I have annual plans for Canadian Thanksgiving weekend.

Although I’ve been lazy lately, I’m an avid cook who has about two dozen cookbooks for different cuisines. I have a couple for baking, but I don’t enjoy that nearly as much as cooking, and a stack of Gourmet magazines which have some spectacular tips and recipes. One of my favorite books from the pantry is Ryukyuan Cuisine, which was published in Okinawa and tells of the Ryukyu islands’ history, which special dishes are served during holidays, and describes the local cuisine and ingredients.

I suppose my esoteric books would also be considered niche reading. The shelves cover a range of topics, including astrology, kabbalah, meditation, natural healing, shamanism, and witchcraft. I’ve read a lot of them, but many are merely resources like Animal Speak by Ted Andrews, which I recently finished.

A friend has also recommended I read 99 Pool Shots, or something similar to that title, but it’s long been out of print so my chances of finding it are slim to none. I’m not as excited about the book as he, but I’d like to glean some of its information. Thanks to playing with him and and a couple others, my game’s really improved and I’m not handing over the table nearly as much as before. It get’s tiring paying for others to play at the pub.

I also have a plethora of books about art and artists, technical theatre, and horses. I think that’s it for my niche reading.

This week’s prompt from Booking Through Thursday:

btt2There are certain types of books that I more or less assume all readers read. (Novels, for example.) But then there are books that only YOU read. Instructional manuals for fly-fishing. How-to books for spinning yarn. How to cook the perfect souffle. Rebuilding car engines in three easy steps. Dog training for dummies. Rewiring your house without electrocuting yourself. Tips on how to build a NASCAR course in your backyard. Stuff like that.

So which niche books do you read?

Responses

  1. I have a plethora of art books too, a big part of them being photography (that’s my niche). I don’t share your other niches though! 🙂

  2. Eh, to each their niche.

    I enjoy looking at photography, but don’t have any books on the subject.

  3. oh wow, you have books on witchcraft too. But you do read a LOT of niche books. Very impressive 🙂

  4. I’m not sure my answer is right but my niche book is a book about superstitious in Japan

  5. Violet: I’m rather fond of my niches and have been a semi-practicing Pagan for over a decade.

    Novroz: Neat, different, and that counts. It’s funny, if in a theatre I won’t say MacBeth in just “that M play” and it’s the only place I won’t walk under a ladder. I also don’t pass food with chopsticks or stick my chopsticks up in my food. Otherwise, black cats and other stuff, not so superstitious about.

  6. My niche reads are books that get me out of serious literature for which I take notes. They are mostly magazines actually, on aviation, fitness, and travel.


Leave a Reply

Categories

