Posted by: Mish | June 24, 2009

New Used Books

Because it’s been one of those months and it’s been awhile, I figured I’d browse my favorite bookshoppe. I’m glad I did, I found some reading that wasn’t there the last time. I was good, only coming away with three new used books.

Thieves’ World is what happens when SF/F writers have too much wine together. The anthology-like novel features central characters on a stage where murder, mayhem, and skullduggery- with always a bit of magic- are the order of the day”. Catching my eye, was the name Robert Asprin, who edited, wrote for, and came up with the crazy notion. I’ve been meaning to read more by the humerous man I heard a lot of stories about at last year’s MarCon anyway. Among those Asprin sucked into contributing are his wife at the time, Lynn Abbey, and Marion Zimmer Bradley.

While reading Legends: Short Novels by the Masters of Modern Fantasy I was introduced to Orson Scott Card’s Alvin Maker series, which takes place in an alternate American frontier. Liking the short “Grinning Man” and Card’s writing, it was hard to resist the first in the series, Seventh Son. I’ll eventually finish his Ender series.

Today’s unexpected bonus is a 1921 French edition of Edmond Rostand’s infamous play, Cyrano de Bergerac. I do love the smell of old books and, given its age, it’s in fantastic condition. To think I found it in the free box outside the shoppe, which just goes to show that one person’s trash is another person’s treasure.

On another note, I finished Ravens in the Library last night. It was bittersweet, but I can always read it again…and again… Not that there’s really a limit, but maybe I’ll fill the fantasy slot with Thieves’ World. I’m about half-way through Ursula Le Guin’s sci-fi anthology, the Compass Rose, which really calls for mental alertness on my part. I’m finding the Moonstone by Wilkie Collins hard to put down. It’s a good mystery and I sense a twist waiting around the corner.

Find and/or read any good books lately?

Leave a Reply

Categories

