Posted by: Mish | July 5, 2009

Beats and Pieces

BodhranWhile having my coffee I heard drumbeats in the distance so poked my head out the door to see from which direction they were coming…down the block in front of my favourite coffee shop. Beautiful day (finally!) and James and I haven’t played outside in months. I grabbed him, went over and inquired, and we jammed for a bit. I think we found our new Sunday afternoon hang out. Usually jamming is far and in between so it’ll be great to do so on a more regular basis.

I was very pleasantly surprised when last week I noticed that SJ Tucker had added an eighth song to Quartered, the soundtrack for Catherynne M. Valente’s tantalizing Palimpsest. “Girl with the Lion’s Tail” is quick, catchy, addicting, and tied with “We Are Shangri-La” as favourites from the album. I can’t argue with Sooj’s decision to continue adding songs through the summer instead of April and look forward to hearing what else she comes up with. I guess it’ll be at summer’s end when I buy and review the album.

PR Frost’s latest Tess Noncoiré adventure was released in early June. It’ll be awhile yet before I get to Faery Moon since I want to read the first in the series, Hounding the Moon, beforehand. The second, Moon in the Mirror is a fun frolick into urban fantasy.

Between Oscar Wilde and Wilkie Collins I’ve been getting a hefty dose of social commentary. I think I’ll pause Wilde for a bit, continue through the last half of Collins’s the Black Robe, and pick up some light reading…possibly Robert Asprin, Hounding the Moon, Mercedes Lackey’s Snow Queen, or… It’s a shame I don’t have a lot to pick from.

I’m cursing myself for forgetting that Montreal’s arts festival was this week, the last day being today. Too late for me to cruise the streets perusing art now, tabernac! Next year. At least there’s still plenty of time for me to catch some tunes at the Jazz Festival. Not that I really mind rain, but it would be nice if the weather stayed clear for all the musicians and listeners outside.

Responses

  1. Just popped over here after seeing your comment on Eva’s blog (on her review of Normal) and I see that you are also a Montrealer! I have hardly been out to the Jazz Fest this year, unfortunately, although I did go to the Stevie Wonder show…

  2. I haven’t been able to go as much as usual this year. You and the whole area were there. That was such a fantastic night.

    Thanks for coming by.


Leave a Reply

Categories

