Posted by: Mish | July 9, 2009

Unread…Still

btt2Unread Books Challenge: “Give me the list or take a picture of all the books you have stacked on your bedside table, hidden under the bed or standing in your shelf – the books you have not read, but keep meaning to. The books that begin to weigh on your mind. The books that make you cover your ears in conversation and say, ‘No! Don’t give me another book to read! I can’t finish the ones I have!’ “

Oh, that I had a camera to show the stacks, but since I don’t… those that have been queued the longest and are already on my shelves are:

Carlos Castaneda: Teachings of Don Juan
Miguel de Cervantes: Don Quixote
Ursula Le Guin: Earthsea series (finish)
Victor Hugo: Les Misérables (reread in French this time)

Hm, that’s a rather small fraction of the Dread Pile o’Reads, to which I’m adding yet another book. I don’t use a separate stack for TBR books, preferring to settle them right into their shelves, which are currently not as organized as usual.

This week I found a used copy of Passions and Other Stories by Isaac Bashevis Singer. Not having read anything by Singer since around ’93, the 20 stories were irresistible. Aside from Mazel and Shlimazel and Yentl the Yeshiva Boy I don’t remember titles, but I recall really liking them and frequently laughing. It’s also a way of connecting with my heritage. Sadly (I think), my knowledge of Yiddish literature basically begins and ends with Singer, but he was a key figure. I’ve a friend who would be happy to give me a reading list, but I’m trying not to add to the pile…kinda…sorta…

What’s in your unread pile? Any good finds lately?

Responses

  1. You gotta read Hugo!

    Here is my BTT post!

  2. Yea, it’s been too long since I’ve read Hugo and, more specifically, Les Mis.


Leave a Reply

Categories

