Posted by: Mish | July 22, 2009

Watson & Deslauriers en Duo

During the Montreal Jazz Festival, friends and I caught the folky blues stylings of Dawn Tyler Watson and Paul Deslauriers. They opened with an impressively fantastic cover of the Beatles’ “Come Together” and later brought on some laughter with their song about how Blues has the world by the balls. With the vocal range of Montreal’s “Queen of Blues” and Deslauriers’s six-string guitar and vocal chords, the duo filled the stage and street with their presence. Watson also provided brass through humming like a trombone, which was interesting and different. We liked them enough that we were disgruntled and disappointed when the duo’s evening set was cancelled due to a programming error. Some consolation was purchasing their album and knowing we’ll be able to see them, en duo or separately, again in between their tours in and out of Canada.

En Duo‘s cover reflects Dawn Tyler Watson and Paul Deslauriers‘s relaxed music stylings. Like in their performances, the album contains solo and harmonious vocals, Deslauriers on guitar, and Watson‘s mouth trombone. The songs range from ballads to roadhouse blues and from folk to R&B. The album only features two songs written by Watson, “Boozin'” and “Why”, but they add their own earthly and sometimes fiery twists to classic songs written by Smokey Robinson, Steve Earle, Paul Simon, among others. En Duo is a beautiful, leisurely listen that would be well accompanied with lemonade on a summer’s day.

What’s your latest musical discovery? What music festivals do you enjoy attending?

“My Babe”

“Come Together”

“Homeward Bound”

Responses

  1. I love Come Together and Homeward Bound. However, my three favorite Simon & Garfunkel songs are I Am A Rock, A Dangling Conversation and The Boxer.

    One of my colleagues just introduced me to this band called White Lies. Check them out on youtube if you haven’t heard them already, or something. Their song, To Lose My Love, is immense. The other artiste that I really like listening to, is Johnny Flynn. Most people haven’t heard of him, but, he’s really good. Seen him live a couple of times as well, and just really enjoyable.

    Speaking of seeing gigs live, I haven’t been to a music festival yet (woe betide me!), but, I did go to see Oasis in concert two weeks back, and they rocked… played about five songs from What’s The Story, and barely four from the new album. Awesome.

    Your post reminds me of how I really should go for a music festival… and then compare notes ūüôā

  2. My favourite Simon and G-Funk are Sound of Silence and Dangling Conversation.

    I’ve heard of White Lies and Oasis, but wouldn’t recognize them if I heard them on the radio. See what you mean about the song.

    As I love fishing for trout, anyone who titles a song Brown Trout Blues gains a point in my book. Listened to a few of Flynn’s tunes, nice, especially Leftovers. Fun fiddling. Thanks.

    Definitely, get thee to the music!

  3. Leftovers is nice, but my favorite is The Wrote and The Writ. Brown Trout Blues is nice as well ūüôā

    Oasis – they modeled themselves on the Beatles, so, their concert ended with I Am The Walrus. If you want to hear more of them, check out Champagne Supernova, Stop Crying Your Heart Out, and The Masterplan. One of their songs which is really fun is, The Importance of Being Idle.


Leave a Reply

Categories

