Posted by: Mish | July 27, 2009

Top Seven

Everyone seems to do top three or ten lists, but it’s July and seven’s a great number so here are my top seven reads so far this year:

1. Catherynne M. Valente: Palimpsest – A phenomenal urban fantasy that I said would remain a favorite back in February.

2. Anthology: Ravens in the Library – A magically, wonderful, and personal collection of sci-fi and fantasy.

3. Ursula Le Guin: the Lathe of Heaven – Eery sci-fi that’s one of Le Guin’s best works.

4. Vilhjálmur Stefánsson: My Life With the Eskimo – Surprisingly liked this Arctic ethnology/anthropology adventure better than originally anticipated.

5. Rachel Green: An Ungodly Child – I’ve been following the tales of Harold and Jasfoup for a few years so it was great to see this original, humorous urban fantasy published.

6. William Goldman: the Princess Bride – Fun to read, love the movie.

7. Wilkie Collins: the Moonstone – A classic mystery that made for great summer reading.

What are your best/favorite reads this year?

Responses

  1. Sometime in the next few years I’ll be reading Princess Bride for the first time. I’ve seen the movie of course, and it’s good but I’m not obsessed with it like some people are. I wonder if I’ll like the book better.

  2. I’m not obsessed, I just tend to watch it a few times a year… *chuckles* But given that, I’m curious if you and others who like the film well enough will like the book better.

  3. You’ve ensured I add Princess Bride to my list, and I already have Moonstone on it!

    My 7:

    Great Gatsby
    A Clockwork Orange
    Norwegian Wood
    News Of A Kidnapping
    Number9Dream
    Animal Farm
    The Plot Against America

  4. I’ve already added Clockwork to the List. I read Animal Farm in high school and now that I’m older, I’d like to re-read it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

