Posted by: Mish | August 5, 2009

the Day I Swapped My Dad for Two Goldfish

The Day I Swapped My Dad For Two Goldfish sums up the plot of the children’s book written by Neil Gaiman. The boy’s mother tells him he needs to get his dad back so he goes to his friend’s house only to discover that his father’s been traded again. The boy and his tag-along younger sister follow the swapping chain from house to house until they eventually find their father.

Visually telling the tale are Dave McKean’s surreal illustrations. The pages are mixed media of ink, collages, newspaper print, and possibly paint. Using photographic images of goldfish really make them stand out.

A friend had used the book for a 7th grade listening exercise, for which it worked quite well. After talking about Gaiman, I found the book in my hands. It was a fun little thirty-minute read, but I was more impressed with the illustrations which are vastly different from the ones I remember looking at as a child. I can see how children would really like the Day I Swapped My Dad For Two Goldfish.

Responses

  1. Sounds like a cute story and unique images.


Leave a Reply

Categories

