Posted by: Mish | September 21, 2009

Musical Musing Monday

Musing Mondays“Do you listen to music while reading? Does this change if you’re reading in or out of your house? Do you have a preference of music for such occasions?”

It’s seldom that I don’t have music playing at home, even if only in the background. Celtic, folk, classical, opera, and Anthony Stewart Head’s ambiance-electronica album are my usual reading and writing soundtracks. For that thing called housework it’s commonly Nightwish, Meat Loaf, Jim Steinman, Beethoven, and Vivaldi.

On another note, I occasionally glanced at the Emmys last night because with Neil Patrick Harris hosting there was bound to be a spiel involving Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along-Blog. I was not disappointed. Plus, Joss Whedon’s web-aired musical won an Emmy in the Short-format Live-action Entertainment category. Shiny!

“This is our small proof not only that things can be done differently in this business, but that the greatest expression of rebellion is joy.” ~Joss Whedon

Dr. Horrible interrupts the Emmys:

Short but sweet acceptance:

Responses

  1. Yes, I do have to have something on as background noise but not always when I am reading.

    Here is mine:
    http://thebookresort.blogspot.com/2009/09/musing-mondays_21.html

    Enjoy your week!

  2. I like my music while reading, if, for nothing else, to drown out all the other voices. Am a rock’n’roll girl myself, but have a fair bit of classical music (Tchaikovsky being my favourite)

  3. I like music while reading, too, but was waiting for another rock afficionado to turn up before nailing my colours to the mast. (Still flushing the residue ‘pirate’ from my vocab!)

    Don’t get to read with music that often because the OH and I have mutually exclusive tastes. Often I read while he watches TV, and if he reads he can’t do so over music.

    And I don’t have any redeeming classical favourites!

  4. I be readin’ and rockin’ on occasion.

    What about usin’ earphones?

    For Tchaikovsky, I only own and be familiar with the Nutcracker.


Leave a Reply

Categories

