Posted by: Mish | May 27, 2010

Bedside and Beyond

BTT asks this week, “What books do you have next to your bed right now? How about other places in the house? What are you reading?”

The handy-dandy nook in my nightstand currently has George Orwell’s Nineteen Eighty-Four (I couldn’t help but finish it last night- intense), Herman Melville’s Moby Dick of which I’m on chapter 11, an anthology by Isaac Bashevis Singer titled Passions and Other Stories, the Complete Works of William Shakespeare, and Ursula Le Guin’s the Language of the Night (essays on fantasy and sci-fi) and translation of Tao Te Ching, which is a permanent bed-side resident.

Wouldn’t you know that the day after I rearrange my bookshelves, I come home with a stack of books. They’re currently sitting on chairs until I make room on the already double-stacked shelves.  So far I’ve been good this year and haven’t bought a single book. I haven’t needed to thanks to a friend who is moving, another friend whose books I’m temporarily housing, and the library’s freebie box.

Andrea:

Clive Cussler’s Flood Tide: One of those authors I might get around to reading.

Robertson Davies’s Fifth Business: Simply because it looked good and she said I’d like it. I noticed last night that it’s on the list of 1001 books one should read.

Fyodor Dostoyevsky’s Crime and Punishment: I’m really not a fan of Russian literature, but feel like I should read some once in a blue moon’s blue moon. Besides it’s a 1938 edition in pristine condition- yeah, the cover caught my eye before the title.

Raymond Feist’s Riftwar Saga books 1-4: I read a novella from the series that was good so figured why not more.

Rudyard Kipling’s Kim: I can now delete it from my e-books library.

Herman Melville’s Moby Dick: It’s been on my reading list for awhile, but I didn’t feel like reading it from my palm pilot (delete). Right after I brought it home I found out about a read-along hosted by Infinite Zombie so it was good timing. I’m a bit behind because they got a head start, but no biggie. It’ll be fun to see how it goes with my first read-along.

Terry Pratchett’s Hogfather: So far I’ve only read Good Omens and people keep telling me I’ll like Pratchett so now I can give it a go with a book from Discworld.

Philip Pullman’s Dark Materials trilogy: I’ve been wanting to read them since all the debate stirred the pot.

J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter books 1-4: After talking about literature and how the series got people to read, I relented and gave in to taking them with me. It’s not that I don’t think I’ll like them, quite the contrary, but I have so many other books and series that have my attention and priority.

The World of the Short Story with 62 authors ranging from those whose works I really like to those I’d like to read- Colette, Kafka, Updike, Atwood, Hemingway, etc… Besides, I’m a big fan of shorts.

Also a cultural anthropology textbook, a paranormal magazine, a Spanish textbook, and a book of fairy tales and fables.

Jack:

Orson Scott Card’s Ender Saga books that follow Speaker for the Dead. It’ll be one more series I’ve completely read.

Note to self, must return Michael Swanwick’s the Iron Dragon’s Daughter sooner than later. I should also return Ursula Le Guin’s Voices because it doesn’t seem likely I’ll get to it this year. I believe those are the only books I have of his and mine were already returned.

Library:

Forensic anthropologist Mary Manheim’s Trail of Bones recounts several cases on which she’s worked. I picked this up with a friend in mind who likes the books by Kathy Reichs, which I will eventually read. Said friend whisked the book off immediately.

Edmund Spenser’s Saint George and the Dragon, the first book of the 16th century epic poem the Faerie Queen. It’s been adapted into modern English for children, but it’ll be a reminder to obtain a copy of the original verses at some point.

I also came away with several National Geographic and a Latin textbook just because.

What are your recent acquirements and readings?

Responses

  1. Ahhh.. did someone mention the 1001 books list? Looks like you read a great deal that’s included on that list. Anyway, I guess as you know about the list, you’re aware of the 1001 Books spreadsheet and have a copy of the new v4 edition, right? If not, head over to the spreadsheet page on Arukiyomi.

  2. Already have it. Thanks- excellently done.


Leave a Reply

Categories

