Posted by: Mish | June 5, 2010

Want. Need. Have.

Fellow bibliophiles are partially to blame for my ever-growing reading pile. I don’t usually add so many at once, but I tossed eight books into the pile this week. Thanks to Sarah and Uncertainprinciples, I now have George Orwell’s Homage to Catlonia and Down and Out in Paris and London that I’d like to get around to- at some point. As per request, Sarah suggested a couple nautical fictions, but after joining the read-along she pointed out, I’ll finally be able to cross Moby Dick off my list.

About a third of the books in my Dread Pile o’Reads are already on my shelves:

Orson Scott Card: more Ender Saga (5 books)
Orson Scott Card: Seventh Son
Miguel de Cervantes: Don Quixote
Stephen Chbosky: the Perks of Being a Wallflower
Wilkie Collins: Cain’s Legacy
Fyodor Dostoevsky: Crime and Punishment
Ursula Le Guin: A Fisherman of the Inland Sea
Victor Hugo: Les Misérables (encore)
C.S. Lewis: Out of the Silent Planet
C.S. Lewis: Perelandra

Gregory Maguire: Wicked
George R.R. Martin: Wild Cards
Frederick Marryat: Mr. Midshipman Easy
Edmond Rostand: Cyrano de Bergerac
Robert Silverberg: Lord Valentine’s Castle
Isaac Bashevis Singer: Passions and Other Stories
Carlos Castaneda: Teachings of Don Juan
Robert Ghost Wolf: Changing the Tides of Fear
G. K. Chesterton: Heretics, Orthodoxy

With so much to read already I tend not to go for new releases. I’ve been good at sticking to not buying brand new books, but the exceptions are a couple independent artists whose works I prefer purchasing hot of the press. I’m slacking this year and still need to get Seanan McGuire’s A Local Habitation, the sequel to Rosemary and Rue, and her postapocalyptic zombie story, Feed, which was released under the guise of Mira Grant. After all her sleepless nights and rabid frenzies, I’m thrilled that McGuire is a Hugo nominee in the best new writer category.

Folklore has always been an interest, so add that with its dissection and reconstruction, a twist of Arabian Nights, fantastic use of language, and vivid imagery and one gets the Orphan’s Tales by Catherynne Valente. I’ve been meaning to read them ever since Palimpsest and sooner than later is preferred. To quote Faith, “Want. Need. Have.”

These musings were brought about by Weekly Geeks. As asked by them:

Weekly Geek button“Is your wishlist as big as your TBR pile? What books are topping your list? Are there any new releases that you are counting down the days for? Share a handful of titles and be sure to share why you want to get your hands on these books! And if another blogger is responsible for that book being on your wishlist, consider sharing a link to their review!”

Responses

  1. Thanks for the link, Mish.

    Great list, and what a strange coincidence. I just mentioned on my blog a Don Quixote read-along…

    Had you already come across this? And do you think you could read it and Ulysses simultaneously? Because that is the damn fool notion I am currently entertaining!

    I do fancy re-reading those novels by CS Lewis. I am sure I would find my perspective substantially changed. You have also reminded me that I have never finished a book by Victor Hugo…

  2. Great. Thanks! i just had to add feed to MY wishlist now. 🙂 no worries though, it looks really cool. Hooray for Weekly Geeks!

  3. Melanie: Awesome! I hope you like it. If it’s one thing the author knows it’s zombies, of which she’s a rabidly crazy fan.

    Sarah: Hmm, I didn’t see your announcement. That catches my interest so much more than Ulysses, partially because I have Don Quixote in paperback. The read-alongs really overlap don’t they? I could read both, but I’m asking myself do I want to? But I do have Ulysses as a possibility for a challenge. Eh- I’ll see how I feel after big Dick. You’re a bad influence! 😛 Haha.

  4. You have a great list here.

    Weekly Geeks: Wish List

  5. Down and Out In Paris and London is fantastic. I want to read Homage to Catalonia as well 🙂

    I’ve got a couple of books on the Ender Saga lying at home which need to be read soon. I loved Ender’s Game, so can’t quite figure out why I’m taking so long on the others. Too many books, maybe?

    Great list there – best of luck with it 🙂

  6. I foresee myself reading all of Orwell’s books if those two go well.

    “Too many books” to read in general maybe. Or mood. Don’t think of reading a saga, but separate books. His serial books tend to stand on their own. Ender’s Game was written because of Speaker for the Dead, which I absolutely loved. They share characters and history, but are otherwise very different.

    I’ve been on a break from Card after the loathsome Treasure Box. But figured I should borrow a friend’s Ender books before he went away for a year. So they’re sitting here for whenever I feel like continuing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

