Posted by: Mish | June 19, 2010

Junky-Treasure

It’s truthfully said that beauty is in the eye of the beholder, especially when considering that one person’s junk is another person’s treasure. I’m a big fan of junky-treasure, in large part because of recycling, limiting use of natural resources, and decreasing what enters landfills. It’s also my lifestyle. I don’t want to purchase new things every time I move, and there’s always something that’s needed. Part of it is likes, pure and simple. Older furnishings emit more of a coziness in my mind. I love natural textures and tones so have a lot of wood around and my favourite colour is blue. Rusty items are nice too. Sleek and modern just aren’t my style. With a little creativity and elbow grease, “junk” can be refurbished or transformed.

While furnishing my current residence, a pair of zig-zagged plaster lamps caught my eye in a thrift-store. I painted over the hideously garish aqua as soon as possible. My side table’s 17-inch top is a 5-inch slab of tree trunk that was laying around a friend’s yard. It’s resting atop a metal canister until I come across something I like better. I’m currently camera-less so it’s an old picture, but as per request one can see it- kind of.

Cat nap

A few rubbings of fine-grained sandpaper will recondition an old wooden toy chest with rope handles that a friend recently gave me. It’s a shame it had to be left behind, one doesn’t really see them anymore. It does make for nice storage though.

I used to have an old seaman’s lantern that I found on a beach and refurbished with sheets of sandpaper. I think my parents tossed it when they moved while I was in college and had no say in the matter. During one of my moves I had to leave behind an upholstered barber’s chair that was in my living room. Those suckers weigh a ton.

If you like decorating with junky-treasure and want some ideas, you may want to check out Carl’s photographic review of Junk Beautiful by Sue Whitney and Ki Nassauer or their website and blog, Junkmarket Style. If you have any junky-treasure or refurbishing projects, I’d love to hear about them.

Responses

  1. Thanks for sharing the picture. That table top looks like it could give you quite the workout if you were to move it around on a regular basis. Really cool idea. I like cozy vs. modern myself, although am not above combining the two if it looks right.

    No current refurbishing projects, but definitely have the hopes of some in the near future.

  2. No problem and thanks. At about 15 lbs I suppose it could. Good thing I don’t move it regularly. ūüôā It’s easier than moving some furniture though.


Leave a Reply

Categories

