Posted by: Mish | July 6, 2010

Currently Reading

What are you currently reading? Would you recommend it to others? Is it part of a series (if so, which one)? What are you thinking about it? What book(s) would you compare it to, if any?

My brain went SpLaT after Moby Dick, so much that even a fantasy anthology was too much to bear. Usually anthologies provide a good mental break between novels, but not this time. So now I’m in Act II of Oscar Wilde’s An Ideal Husband, which isn’t as comical as Lady Windermere’s Fan but still entertaining. Wilde’s comments about genteel Victorian society are more blunt and to the point than in previous works I’ve read, which makes it easy reading. I’m liking the play so far and have come to really like Wilde’s works.

After An Ideal Husband, I’ll be participating in read-alongs for Don Quixote and Frankenstein. Light fare was most preferred and needed after 5 weeks of hunting for the White Whale, surviving my first week at work, and plunging into summertime festivities.

This weekend was spent with the Frenchies. Sunday we took them to Vermont so the parents could shop without kids and see Fourth of July celebrations. Sky Burger in Burlington has great burgers and the kids had fun wading in Lake Champlain. We were going to see fireworks but decided it better to get home sooner than later because Monday was going to be another long, hot day. We dropped them off at Aux berges du Lac Castor where they are currently camping, but not before cooling off in “Beaver Lake” with swimming, kayaking, and canoeing and making dinner over an open fire.

Responses

  1. I can certainly see why after reading Moby Dick you would need a much lighter read. You certainly are not wasting any time jumping right in to another huge book with Don Quixote…has that read along started yet?

    I hope another Don Quixote read along will come my way, such bad timing for me to participate right now.

    Your weekend sounds like it was fun….spending time at a lake is always lovely.

  2. I know what you mean about timing, but figured I might as well knock Don Quixote off the list sooner than later. The read-along starts July 19th and the first discussion is on the 26th. I’m sure they’ll be many others.

    Yes, lovely, especially in this sweltering heat. Ugh!

  3. Ahh, Quixote, thats been sitting on my shelf for about 3 years.

    And may I say, Vermont owns my heart. It’s one of my favorite places in the world. I vacation there twice a year.

  4. I don’t remember how long Quixote has been sitting and waiting on my shelf, but more than long enough.

    It’s a great place to vacation. The northern area is only an hour away so friends and I usually go sailing and camping there. We’re also prone to just taking drives along the shoreline and through the farm country. The mountains are absolutely gorgeous at sunset.

  5. Oh I know it! I don’t go all the way north, but I still get to drive through the mountains and all. It’s absolutely gorgeous and peaceful. The air is so clean and fresh. I love it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

