Posted by: Mish | July 15, 2010

Hot Reading and Discussion

Booking Through Thursday button“Well, folks, I don’t know about where you are, but right here, it’s HOT. So … when you think about “hot reading,” what does that make you think of? Beach reading? Steamy romances? Books that take place in hot climates? Or cold ones?”

I’ve always brought what I was reading or wanted to read to the beach, lake, or river. Living in an area where it snows for six months, I’ve gotten more interested in nautical fiction. It gets me revved for the all too short sailing season and is a pleasant cool down during the four warm-hot months. After asking about nautical fiction at the beginning of my Moby Dick voyage, Herman Melville’s Billy Budd, Foretopman, Captain Maryatt’s Mr Midshipman Easy, and R.M. Ballantyne’s the Coral Island were recommended.

Linda Greenlaw’s modern maritime nonfiction All Fisherman Are Liars, the Hungry Ocean, and the Lobster Chronicles also made my reading list. Interestingly, Greenlaw is/was the only woman captain of a swordfishing boat along the US’s east coast, and she, the Andrea Gail‘s crew, and hellish sailing conditions were written about in the Perfect Storm by Sebastian Junger. I vaguely recall seeing the movie years ago, but would like to read the book.

On another note, last week’s Booking Through Thursday questioning prompt was:

“Do you have friends and family to share books with? Discuss them with? Does it matter to you?”

I have always had friends and family to share and discuss one book or another with so don’t know how I would feel if I didn’t.

There’s one friend in particular with whom I regularly talk about books, movies, music and everything else under the sun. We’ve been doing so since Nate joined my gaming group in ’97 and despite living on separate coasts. We share a lot of interests and frequently introduce each other to new things.

Our most recent discussion included George Orwell, Jane Austen, Isaac Asimov, and “Cat V”. I mentioned I’d like to read Pride and Prejudice and coincidentally Nate had just finished Sense and Sensibility. We agree that Avatar was good eye-candy but not much else and he warned that Avatar, the Last Airbender was really disappointing. I guess I’ll be watching it when it comes out on video. Nate still needs to see District 9 so we can have a more in depth discussion. Our separate discoveries of Blackmore’s Night came up while talking about music and Renn Faire, which is how Nate spends his summer. We certainly run the gambit during our conversations.

A few tunes by Blackmore’s Night:

“Way to Mandaly”

“Minstrel Hall” – More traditional

“Greensleeves” with a Firefly montage because Nate and I are Browncoats

Responses

  1. Really enjoyed the first song…liking the vid too.

    Great answer for me a hot reading is a ten out of ten!

  2. Nice that you liked the music video. That’s a different take on “hot reading”.


Leave a Reply

Categories

