Posted by: Mish | July 22, 2010

Bookish Podcasts

Booking Through Thursday button“Do you ever listen to book-related podcasts? If so, which ones and why? Or, of course, there’s the flip side … did you even know that such a thing existed?”

I have a low attention span for radio and audio books so I’ve only listened to a few bookish podcasts. The first was a few readings shared by Catherynne Valente of the Orphan’s Tales, for which she took apart and reconstructed folklore like Legos and is akin to Arabian Nights. Then there was a CBC radio podcast a friend shared with me, an interview with Neil Gaiman about Coraline and fairy tales. I’m glad I found it fascinating enough to transcribe because the radio station’s link expired. Most recently I listened to Patrick Stewart’s reading of H.G. Wells’ the Star. It was good, but I’ll have to re-read the short story with my own eyes to get the point.

Responses

  1. Guess I have a low attention span for audiobooks, too – I’ve never been able to stick with any of them. Don’t know if I’d feel the same way about podcasts because I’ve never really listened to any. But I’m getting some great recommendations today, so I might have to give them a try.

  2. Sometimes I have to read the print to get the point or to clarify something. I am having good luck with my current audiobook as I don’t think there is much I will have to reference from the book in order to write my thoughts down.

    Podcasts…I usually don’t listen to podcasts. I just don’t think about them plus the time it takes to listen is just not there. With one exception, I have started to listen to sermons that are on podcast during my drive into work on Sunday mornings…that is a good use of my time. 🙂

  3. I don’t listen to Podcasts, don’t even know what they are, but I am learning as I read each response.

  4. That’s another point, podcasts fly below my radar. They’re also too much like radio, which I get enough of at work even if it is predominately a music station. When I’m home, I want music not talk.


Leave a Reply

Categories

