Posted by: Mish | July 27, 2010

Reviewing Books

Musing Mondays“Do you review books? If so, for who? If not, have you ever thought about doing so? Why, or why not?”

I hadn’t really considered blogging about books until a friend asked me to participate in a review forum. I figured if I was posting thoughts there then I might as well do so here as hard copy, the first review being in January of 2008 for DAW Books’ 1980 Annual World’s Best SF. (Was it really almost 3 years ago?!) The now inactive group was my introduction to the bookworms’ blogosphere.

My bookish posts are a mix of reviews, thoughts, and random tidbits. I write for myself and because I love discussing and sharing art. That others add to the discussion (and Dread Pile o’Reads) and camaradaries forged is a ginormous bonus.

Thank you.

Responses

  1. I started the blog because I wanted to share my thoughts on my readings. It’s also a record of my reading history since I review every book I read.

  2. I am with you in that I started blogging about the books I read because of an online group book discussion, and then because I wanted to keep track of books read for me. Yes, yes…”camaradaries forged is a ginormous bonus.” 😀

  3. Matt: I was keeping up with reading recording but then got busy with other good things, including enjoying the short summer season.

    Ibeeg: Cheers to that.

  4. I started blogging to keep track of the books I’d read, and keep my thoughts in place. I never actually expected to get sucked into the blogging community.

    Pre-blogging, I found I was reading a lot, but sometimes, when someone asked me about a book, my mind just blanked. Blogging, at least, helps me escape situations like that… Or, pick up a book I’d read about five years back and completely forgotten!

  5. I didn’t anticipate getting sucked in either. Blogs make great notebooks.


Leave a Reply

Categories

