Posted by: MishMosh | August 24, 2009

Serial Musings

I enjoy stand-alone books and serials, without preferring one over the other. Most of the series I read tend to be fantasy or sci-fi. I’m more likely to complete a series in one go if I have the books on hand, otherwise I tend to get distracted by other reading. There are also times when I want a break because I’m in the mood for something else. I think I’m currently in the middle of five series for one reason or another. I’m really looking forward to reading Seanan McGuire’s October Daye series as each of the six books are released. The first book, Rosemary and Rue, is scheduled for release on September first, but apparently some stores have already jumped the gate.

The last series I read non-stop was Irene Radford’s Merlin’s Descendants last year. It was a nice twist on “the usual” Arthurian Lore, particularly the first two of the five books. Even though I only made it to book three or four,  Ursula Le Guin’s Earthsea series is really good and I’d like to read all five books starting back at one. I loved Ender’s Game and Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card, but due to comments by friends and Card himself I have mixed feelings about continuing the rest of the Ender series.

Last but definitely not least is Mercedes Lackey’s Valdemar series, which I’m almost done with for the second time. Since starting the latest round, Lackey’s added a 29th book that takes place towards the beginning, throwing off my attempt at reading the series chronologically as opposed to publishing dates. Knowing her, there will be one or two more that follow Foundation. Eventually I’ll own all the books (or at least catch up) so that next time I won’t have to pause.

What about you?

Musing MondaysDo you prefer to read stand-alone books, or books in series? Do you stick with a series the whole way through or stop after the first installment? Are there any particular series you enjoy?


Responses

  1. I just like books, books and MORE BOOKS! I don’t care if they’re part of a series or not. Here’s my full response.


Leave a comment

Categories